Bad Mama


Veteran’s Day
November 11, 2008, 9:59 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

I know Veteran’s Day is supposed to be about living vets, but my granddad was alive until yesterday, so I’m going to count him in.

He served in the US Army Signal Corps during WW II. He was originally assigned to be a paratrooper, but he blew out his knee in training. Since he had a good head for numbers and mechanical stuff, so they put him there. He didn’t leave the country, but he did leave my grandmother, who spent most of the war at her family farm, where my father was born. When he was released from service, he went to college, earning a CPA degree thanks to the GI Bill. He helped support his family while he was in school and until he had a well-paying job by repairing TVs and radios, like he learned to do in the army. He was proud of his service, but he never made a big deal out of it. He mostly liked to talk about the places he got to go and the fun he got to have.

Here he is with my dad, after he got to come home. He’s in his uniform. I wish I could find a better one right now, because I think he was rather handsome:

grandpa1

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

It’s a lovely picture- and look how cute your dad is in it as well-

Comment by Nicole




Leave a Reply

