Bad Mama


Rest in Peace
November 10, 2008, 7:28 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

Rodney Vernon Lindgren 25 Dec 1913 – 10 Nov 2008.

I sat with him a while last night, swabbing his mouth with water to make him more comfortable while listening to his death rattles. I held his hand, told him that we all loved him, and that while I hoped that he would get better, I understood if he was tired. I don’t believe he knew I was there, but if he did, I wanted him to know he was loved.

We’re making the arrangements today, whatever they are. I think the worst part of all of this is going to be dealing with my aunt, who has long made it clear that she doesn’t like or care about any of us, and I don’t think that’s suddenly going to change now.

I miss him.

9 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I am so, so very sorry. If you need ANYTHING, please call us.

Comment by Jen

I’m so sorry for the loss of your grandfather. You are and will continue to be in my prayers…
Donna

Comment by Donna Murray

I missed yesterday’s post and am sorry to read this today. I will be thinking of you and hoping for a conflict-free process today as you make arrangements.

Comment by elizasmom

So sorry Carrie- we’ll all miss him. May any contct with the aunt be brief for you-

Comment by Nicole

I’m so sorry.

Comment by Just Me

i’m so sorry to hear this. i know what you mean about a bad parent but a good grandparent; i’ve had a few of those myself. hang in there.

Comment by betsyl

Carrie,

I am so sorry to hear about your grandfather. If there is anything you need, please let me know.

Marty

Comment by Marty

Carrie,
I am so sorry for your loss. Wishing you peace,
Julia

Comment by Julia

I just read about this – I am so very sorry – it was obvious how much he meant to you.

Comment by Meredith




Leave a Reply

