Bad Mama


No title can express the way I feel
November 9, 2008, 4:12 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

I was in the middle of writing a post about all the milestones Squirt has hit recently when I got a call from the nursing home where my grandfather has been living. Something has happened in the last day or so, and while his vital signs are still strong, he is no longer really “there”. I went to visit him this afternoon and there was no acknowledgment that I was holding his hand except that he kept trying to pull it away to brush the oxygen cannula off his face. His eyes don’t focus and he is not speaking. I believe his brain has said good-bye, but the message has yet to get to his heart and lungs, but that’s only a matter of time.

My grandfather was, by most accounts (including his own), not a great father. But he’s been an excellent grandfather. He is affectionate and generous and patient, always happy to see us and never forgetting a special occasion. I have been very lucky to have him as long as I have.

I do not know what his future holds. Perhaps this is being caused by an infection that hasn’t given him a fever yet, or some other temporary condition. I don’t think so. He would be 95 on Christmas Day, and there is no cure yet for old age.

If you are reading this, and feel so inclined, I would appreciate prayers to ease his way. He is, I believe, suffering right now, and he deserves better. Thank you.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

I know how much he means to you dearie- I’m so sorry for your loss. I hope he is not suffering. And I agree- someone should get crackin on a cure for old age- and soon…

Comment by Nicole




Leave a Reply

