Bad Mama


Explanations
December 27, 2007, 4:08 pm
Filed under: Home Sweet Home

1. I got my period today. WTF? What the hell am I doing breastfeeding this child ten times a day and then getting my damn period? How does that work? I supplemented with Peanut and still didn’t get it until she was seven months old.

2. Apparently, the previous owners of this house were very hairy. This is the only explanation I could think of for why they would install the bathtub plumbing the way they did (trust me, they did it themselves). You see, it must have made it so much easier to clear the hair clogs out of the tub drain WHEN YOU DON’T ACTUALLY CEMENT THE PIPES TOGETHER. They just pushed the PVC pipe pieces together under the tub and left them like that. So over time, they slid apart and caused the dirty water to leak out all over our basement floor. I was able to pull the overflow pipe and the drain pipe loose with one hand. Seriously, now I feel like I need to have every inch of pipe in the damn house inspected.

3. They used random pieces of electrical wire to wire up the master bedroom, so why should I be surprised they didn’t bother to properly plumb the bathtub? Yes, they really took whatever wire they found to wire the bedroom. All different colors, spliced together here and there in the walls. Junction box? What’s that? (No, you can’t just pick up some wire, twist it together, and wrap it with electrical tape. There, now you’re smarter than the previous owners).

4. Yes, they were morons. But then what does it say about us that we bought the house? I blame it on the inspector, but damn, I don’t think he assumed morons that big could manage to own a house. He hadn’t seen this, of course.

5. Now you know why we still haven’t remodeled the kitchen or attic. We have to get the basic systems not leaking or threatening to start on fire or explode.

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I got my period that early after Gekid was born, and that was also with breastfeeding him 27 times a day. My reaction too, was WTF??!?!!?!?! Completely unfair. Bleargh.

Comment by Anna

There is nothing sexier than your wife doing the plumbing. I’d mack on her right now, but she’s really wants to fix the tub so she can take a hot shower.

Big Daddy

Comment by Big Daddy

I didn’t get mine at all between my two children who are spaced less than two years apart, but after my daughter I got it at about 6 months and I was quite cross with her about it for some time.

(there is a possibility you are not, but could have re-opened yr placental wound, would that be better or worse? be careful!)

Comment by michelle

I told you about the wires connected with electrical tape in my closet, right? I think they lead to the non-functional thermostat.

I’ll say this about the old repair work: it’s the best anyone could fix an apartment for $50. There is some serious thought put into these cheap fixes. (The current super is nudging the landlady to renovate, out of fear I think.)

Comment by Carlos

Nice handiwork (bathroom vanity)! And the plumbing and wiring?! Wow! How long have you been in your house? I imagine you have spent a good portion of your time fixing the problems left behind by the previous owners.

Comment by NaeNae

Uh- apparantly you cursed me- today I went to do laundry and heard Niagra falls in my basement- when we went to look the top of one of the main pipes had a rusted out hole- oh say about 8 inches across and water was backing up out of it….shall we compare plumber costs?

Oh- and just a thought about your period- after Maddie- the ob told me and he was dead on that I would bleed for 10 weeks after giving birth- then stop for a week-then bleed another week- which is exactly what happened- then I didn’t get an actual period till 10 mos- could that be what is going on with you maybe?

Back to Mr. Roto-Rooter-

Comment by nic




Leave a Reply

