Bad Mama


All’s well that ends well
December 5, 2007, 9:27 pm
Filed under: Squirt

I have experience with the following medical specialties:

Genetics

Pediatric orthopedic surgery

Pediatric plastic/hand surgery

Pediatric physical therapy

Pediatric occupational therapy

Speech/Feeding therapy

Orthotics

… and now, Pediatric Cardiology.

When Squirt was two weeks old, her pediatrician noticed a heart murmur. She asked me to bring her back at four weeks to see if it was still there. It was, and we were referred to cardiology. Today was her appointment for an echocardiogram.

It was good. She screamed for most of it so the pictures weren’t very good, but they are comfortable saying she has an innocent murmur due to Peripheral Pulmonary Stenosis*. If it hasn’t gone away by the time she is six months old, we are to come back, but they expect it to be gone.

By the way, if you are a doctor and you want to give me a compliment, you say, “Oh, you must have a medical background” when I tell you I understand what pulmonary stenosis means. No, I don’t, but feel free to speak to me as if I do. I promise I’ll ask you to clarify if necessary.

*Mammary soufflé? Who comes up with these things?

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

You think “mammary soufflé” is bad? Now it’s mashed up with Prince’s “Raspberry Beret” in my head.

(And the only way I can get rid of it is by passing it on! I hope.)

Comment by Carlos




Leave a Reply

