Bad Mama


Harry
July 21, 2007, 1:35 pm
Filed under: Parenting, Peanut

The two men appeared out of nowhere, a few yards …

Mama! What is that you’ve got?

It’s my new Harry Potter book, Peanut.

… a few yards apart in the narrow, moonlit…

Mama! Look! There’s an owl on the box! He’s got a letter in his beak! Look, Mama, look!

Yes, Honey, there’s an owl on the box. He’s delivering a letter.

…in the narrow, moonlit lane.  For a second, they stood quite …

Mama! Owls don’t bring letters. Mailmen bring letters!

Well, in these books owls bring letters, Peanut. It’s just a story.

…they stood quite still, wands directed at each other’s chest; then, recognizing each other…

Mama, is that Harry Potter on the book?

Yes, that is Harry Potter.

Harry Potter has loooong fingers.

No, that’s the bad guy who is after Harry Potter. This is Harry, here on the front.

Harry Potter has glasses!

Yes, he does.

… recognizing each other, they stowed their wands beneath their cloaks and started walking briskly in the same direction.

Mama! I have to get on the potty!

******

 You know how it got late in the Sopranos, when you realized that they could and would kill off anybody at pretty much any time? I’m only 100 pages in, and it’s like that, except that I actually like these characters. When Peanut wanted to cuddle during chapter four, I was more than happy to join her.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Finished it. No spoilers. though we could rot13 and talk about it!

Comment by Carlos

I love that I am not the only one who reads with constant interruption ie mama sing moon mama i’sa stinks butt mama outside?

Comment by Dana

I laughed when I read your post…It sounds like my house. I too, am trying to read Harry Potter. Some of the blogs I read have made comments about reading the new book in 2 days! It will take me 2 months at the rate I’m reading. I have two little ones interrupting me – and of course, I have to make time for them too (besides reading). And you would think I could read at night once they are sleeping. No! That’s when my husband wants to talk. It looks like late nights for me, if I want to finish it!

PS – I saw your High School Meme. I posted one too…Thanks for the idea!

Comment by NaeNae




Leave a Reply

