Bad Mama


For Big Daddy
July 6, 2007, 3:27 am
Filed under: Love and Marriage

Today is our our tenth wedding anniversary. Who knew that during a time in our lives where we were both making a ton of stupid-assed decisions, we’d end up making one that turned out so well?

We met in early January in Park Slope, Brooklyn.  He proposed in August in Astoria, Queens, in a tiny apartment that rented for more than our mortgage is for now. After I said Yes, we went out in search of something to eat. A bar up the street was blasting music out of it’s doors, and we listened to it at the corner while we waiting for the light to change. It was Elvis, and Big Daddy started to dance with me right there on the sidewalk, to lyrics we felt matched our situation perfectly:

Wise men say only fools rush in
But I can’t help falling in love with you
Shall I stay
Would it be a sin
If I can’t help falling in love with you

Like a river flows surely to the sea
Darling so it goes
Some things are meant to be
Take my hand, take my whole life too
For I can’t help falling in love with you

Thank you for our beautiful family, our home, and ten great years. I love you more than I ever thought possible. And not just because you humor my love of Elvis and 80’s hair bands.

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

awww- happiest of anniversaries friends- here’s to so many more….

Comment by nic

Happy Anniversary! Hope you have many many more ahead of you!

Comment by Jen

I was coming to your site today to say Happy Anniversary! Yes, I actually remembered that it was your tenth.

Comment by Jen

Congratulations!

Comment by elizasmom

what a sweet post. I hope to fall in love like you two one day. I love you guys!

Comment by Dana

You know, I still remember Big Daddy’s expression when he first set eyes on you. Sort of like being hit in the head with a 2 by 4. but in a good way.

Comment by Carlos




Leave a Reply

