Bad Mama


This is new
June 21, 2007, 2:51 am
Filed under: Pistachio

Of all the things I have been worried about because of past history (congenital abnormalities, high blood-pressure, pre-eclampsia, gestational diabetes), premature labor is not one of them.

Well, was.

The doctor said at six contractions an hour, I am to put my feet up and drink a ton of water, and if they don’t go away, to call her and she’ll meet me at the hospital. I’m usally at about 5 an hour, they do go away when I lie down, but they come back when I get up. This is not comforting.

I don’t mean to scare y’all. I’ve been feeling them for quite some time, but I didn’t know that’s what I was feeling. We aren’t thinking anything terrible is imminent, but just that this is my body telling me to chill. Frankly, short of quitting work I don’t know how much else I could do to avoid physical activity (Big Daddy pretty much does everything right now-most women can only wish for a husband like him). I’ve laid around so much I am actually sick of the internet, which is not something I ever thought would be possible. I am not sure what I’ll do if they stick me on bedrest for any length of time. I’m tired, but I was just kidding about the whole forced rest stuff, I swear.

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Oh sweetie- that is scary- Are they the painful kind? I suppose if they are such that you can time them they aren’t nothing. Here’s hopin the new little nut stays put!

Comment by nic

Oh, my sympathies. I had a premature labor scare myself, so I can guess at how you must be feeling. It’s good that they go away when you lie down, although I can certainly understand how boring that must be getting by now. Sending quiet vibes your way.

Comment by elizasmom

i think we here as your readers can take care of being worried for you. you rest and keep your feet up and drink so much water that your eyeballs pop out, okay? that’s plenty of work for you.

my mom was put on bedrest when she was pregnant with my sister. she explained to her ob how she’d be right back with her two year old so he could watch me for the rest of the pregnancy.

instead, she spent a lot of time on the couch, and i spent a lot of time watching sesame street. she now credits this for me learning to read at the age of two. so, i’ll keep my fingers crossed for peanut becoming a child prodigy due to educational television as well. 😉

Comment by betsyl

Let me know if you need me to come up and help out with things for awhile. I hope this scare passes……..

Comment by Jen

your well being is most important…please please please take care of yourself…we can talk about work at home options if you are feeling stressed about not being able to have income with this…I just want you and peanut part duex to be okay

Comment by Dana




Leave a Reply

