Bad Mama


No sleep yet
June 8, 2007, 2:11 am
Filed under: Parenting, Peanut

The Good:

While being in the spica cast and not having super-absorbent (chlorine free!) diapers close to her skin, Peanut learned to not like the feeling of a wet/dirty diaper, and is that much closer to being effectively toilet-trained.

The Bad:

Because of constipation issues related to her condition, the only time she relaxes enough to poop is while she’s sleeping. At night. Like, for instance, 2:45 am, about 15 minutes before I am writing this. She goes back to sleep right away*. I do not, as wiping poop off someone’s butt has this tendency to take me out of my half-awake, half-dreaming state I usually manage for middle-of-the-night bathroom visits of my own. Which are frequent enough without this new development. I am averaging about 4.5 hours of sleep a night.

I cannot begin to explain how tired I am, all the time.  I don’t know how women manage to be pregnant with little ones that still don’t sleep through the night. Maybe their insomnia isn’t so bad, I guess. As it is, I have to go to bed at the same time or earlier than Peanut in order to even approach getting enough sleep. Big Daddy likes his job, but seriously, he needs to work in town now.

*Yes, I jinxed it. Dammit.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

i wish i could come babysit for you for an evening. i hope the pooping issue clears up soon.

Comment by betsyl




Leave a Reply

