Bad Mama


Pregnancy stuff you can’t wait to hear about
May 22, 2007, 5:09 pm
Filed under: Parenting, Pistachio

My belly button is starting to turn inside-out.

This is news, because it didn’t happen the last time around. In fact, I am now almost as large as I ever got with Peanut, and I just might post the pictures to prove it. It helps that small cats weigh more than she did when she was born.

There are several things that either are new or I am anticipating will be new this time around. For example:

  • I never felt Peanut do flips. She did one, when she went from transverse to breech, but that’s it. This kid, I get it a couple of times a day. It’s weird, like I’m on an upside-down roller coaster.
  • I never was woken up or kept awake by Peanut moving. I am discovering this may have been a blessing.
  • I never got hemorrhoids.
  • I never had an internal exam, so I have no idea if or how much I was ever dilated.
  • I never experienced labor. I had one contraction that woke me up from a sound sleep around 33 weeks, but just one.
  • We never had to babyproof. We do have some clamps on drawers/cabinets, but only because we got tired of holding the door closed while she tried to open them.
  • I never gave a wiggly newborn a bath. She didn’t move much the first weeks, and then she was in casts for months and couldn’t have baths, and then she was afraid of them.
  • I never cleaned her umbilical stump. We were in the hospital a full week, and it fell off as soon as we got home.
  • I’ve never held her hand while walking across the street or in a parking lot. She needs two for the walker, and she’s too slow to let her walk at all at an intersection. So I’ve never had to worry about her running off and getting lost. Or bouncing on the bed, or climbing the furniture. Though she’s certainly managed to fall and bump her head.

I’m not whining about these things. It’s just weird to me that I’m having my second kid, while having so little experience with some things that are supposed to go along with it.

I was also not working when I was this pregnant with Peanut, and stayed at home for 18 months after. So that whole maternity-leave thing will be new too. It’s the only part I’m sorry to have to experience.

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Dude I am so jealous. I looked so much forward to my belly button turning inside out and it never happened. I almost wanna get pregnant again for just that purpose ๐Ÿ™‚

Comment by Dana

We called my belly button my “Done Button” because both times it would pop out in the last month.

Even if you had experienced all those things the first time around, they would still be different with the second child. NOTHING IS THE SAME with different kids. Nothing. Not even the way you make their bottles or change their diapers. Every kid is their own and needs things done differently.

Comment by Jen

Aww, congrats! Having been so woefully behind on blogs, I didn’t even know you were pregnant! Glad to be back.

Comment by Michelle

The reason you didn’t feel all these things the first time is that then, you were carrying an angel.

Comment by kathryn Fernholz

Heh. I read this post to my mom, and she said it sounded like her experience. She didn’t have to deal with most of the regular toddler crap with me, because I didn’t walk until I was 31 months. Then she had my brother. I still remember the only time my daughter ran away from me (into the street). I eventually caught up with her, grabbed her hair because that was all I could reach, and shrieked directly into her face. I must’ve scared the daylights out of her because she never ran away again. Most of my friends tell me that’s not normal. ๐Ÿ™‚

Be well.

Comment by Natalie




Leave a Reply

