Bad Mama


A little better
May 9, 2007, 8:49 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

The anti-nausea meds worked, the fever broke (though she’s a little warm again tonight), and she says she’s not in pain. However, for some reason she has decided that all those terrible-twos tantrums that she didn’t have a year ago should be thrown right now. Like the ones where only Mama can make and bring her toast. If Daddy makes it but Mama brings it, that isn’t good enough. If Mama doesn’t set it just right on her lap, it is an occasion for screaming. Her voice is still hoarse because she will literally scream for an hour, and it isn’t out of pain. Reverse psychology does not work–she will happily tell you she’d rather you shave her head than wash vomit out of her hair, or go hungry rather than, God forbid, Daddy make her any toast.

We will get through this. I am needing to look at those pictures of her smiling in the cast from the last time to remind myself of this. She hasn’t smiled, much less laughed, since Monday morning, and I really miss it.

Oh, I’ve been meaning to ask, because Big Daddy thought I was crazy: Does anyone else remember the Shel Silverstein poem “The Unicorn”, but as a song? I think we had it on a record somewhere, but I have no recollection what one. I still remember the tune. “And there were green alligators and long-necked geese/Some humpty-backed camels and some chimpanzees/There were catsandratsandelephants, but sure as you’re born/the loveliest of all was the Unicorn“.

I’d like to imagine I made up the tune myself, but I’m pretty sure I didn’t.

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

We have that song on our computer. I loved listening it to it in college. I am glad peanut if feeling better and hopefully on the road to recovery.

Comment by Marty

http://www.thebards.net/music/lyrics/The_Unicorn_Song.shtml

Above is the link to the song on the internet. You are not crazy, or at least, you are not crazy about the unicorn song.

Comment by Jen

I was JUST trying to remember that song myself the other day because I thought my kid would enjoy singing it — someone recently gave her a stuffed unicorn that is nearly as large as she is. My memories are of singing it in an Irish bar in Toronto with a bunch of drunken hockey players, but removed from that context, it makes a good kids’ song.

I am glad she is over the vomit/fever business, but sorry about the delayed Terrible Twos. Applying the Law of the Cranky Patient, could this mean she’s getting better?

Comment by elizasmom

Ah, yes, I remember that song well. And now I can’t get it out of my head. Thanks! At least I have something new to try to sing to the boys instead of our latest standby – the Bob the Builder theme song…

Comment by Mete




Leave a Reply

